Primary Election Victories!

Congrats to Skip Thomson on the WIN and all other Democratic candidates that showed strong showings on Tuesday! Congratulations to Bill Dodd SD3, Cecilia Aguiar-Curry AD4, Jim Frazier AD11, and Mae Torlakson AD14. Last but not least, Congratulations to Congressman John Garamendi and Congressman Mike Thompson on getting over 60% of the vote! This organization was founded on the activism and leadership learned from your campaigns. We look forward to working with you in the future.


2015 Executive Board Members

happy_obama_holidays_christmas_ornament-r9eb0421884aa4c5e90c21d72b2f521c5_x7s2y_8byvr_512On Tuesday, December 9th, the Solano County Young Democrats nominated and selected 6 new members for Executive Board. A big thank you to the previous board for all the hard work this past year. We look forward to a new year full of partnership building, outreach, and community service (sorry, no scheduled elections in 2015). The new board is as followed:

  • President Joe Summers
  • Secretary Glenn Loveall
  • Treasurer Nikki Anderson
  • North Director Kyle Borras
  • Central Director Katrina Lapira
  • South Director Lawrence Lea

Happy Holidays! Let’s have a great 2015!

2014 YD Victories

Congrats to all Democratic candidates that were elected on Tuesday! Congratulations to Bill Dodd, Jim Frazier, and Susan Bonilla who will go to the Assembly in 2015. Congratulations to Congressman John Garamendi and Congressman Mike Thompson on your return to Washington D.C.

And lastly, we wish to thank the nearly ONE HUNDRED High school and College students who got involved in this year’s election. We hope that even if you don’t become official Solano County Young Democrats, your experiences working on Solano campaigns will make you lifelong advocates for social justice and Democratic values. Sooo… Congratulations to every Young Person who participated in this year’s election for a JOB VERY WELL DONE!

On behalf of Solano Democrats, Thank you!

democrabThank you to all of the young Democrats who got involved with Saturday’s crab feed. With our help, the crab feed was a outstanding success for Solano’s Democratic Party. I hope that all you enjoyed yourselves, met interesting Democrats, and had your fill of crab. Thank you for all of your hard work and we’ll see you at our next event.

CADEM Endorsed Candidates

For those of you who were not aware, this week was the Democratic Convention in Los Angeles. Two of us at SCYD were honored to have been able to represent Solano County at the Convention. Specifically, President Glenn Loveall represented our organization in the Young Democrat Convention. At the CADEM Party Convention, however, the Party officially endorsed all candidates above Supervisor. Below are the endorsed candidates in Solano County:

Jerry Brown for Governor
Gavin Newsom for Lt. Governor
Kamala Harris for Attorney General
Dave Jones for Insurance Commissioner
Tom Torlakson for State Superintendent
John Garamendi for Congress
Mike Thompson for Congress
Dan Wolk for Assembly
Jim Frazier for Assembly
Susan Bonilla for Assembly

Let’s make sure that we get these Democrats elected! We are the margin of victory!

CYD Endorses Candidates for November

24754_336070041581_7428683_nCYD has just released their endorsement for the upcoming election season. Looks like a great list of candidates. Let’s make sure we get these and our local Dems into office. Young Gets it Done!

Jerry Brown for Governor*
Gavin Newsom for Lt. Governor*
Alex Padilla for Secretary of State
John A. Pérez for State Controller
Kamala Harris for Attorney General*
Dave Jones for Insurance Commissioner*
Tom Torlakson for State Superintendent*
Jerome Horton for Board of Equalization*
Fiona Ma for Board of Equalization

* denotes incumbent